The Paper Town Academy: John Green at TEDxIndianapolis

This video inspired me to create this blog for my 20% Project as part of an instructional technology course I am taking to support my major.

Hi, I’m Marissa! I’m a fourth year student pursuing a degree in Communication Sciences and Disorders, aspiring Speech-Language Pathologist, and avid learner.

This video spoke to me, not only because I believe that John Green is brilliant and absolutely one of the most talented writers, (Looking for Alaska, The Fault in Our Stars, etc.) but also because the message he brings to light is something that I can relate to. As a student, and as I’ve been a student my entire life, I have been granted the opportunity to always belong to a learning community. Throughout college I’ve thought to myself, “I’ve been a student for so long that I don’t know how to be anything else. What am I going to do when I’m thrown into the real world? What happens when grades don’t matter, and therefore I’m not being forced to learn new things every day?”

This talk by John Green has allowed me to realize that even when I am no longer a student, I will always be learning. And that’s when I realized the importance of learning communities apart from the education system.

It is my goal to create a website, a network, for CMSD students and Speech-Language Pathologists alike to participate in a learning community, or many, of their own. While ASHA is an incredible resource, I am a firm believer that we can always help each other out. If there’s someone or something out there that can help someone else, it is my goal to find that someone or something.

In my efforts to turn this blog into a resource for others, I will be gathering sources from around the Internet. Whether it be helpful information about CE credits, therapy techniques, or funding opportunities, I hope that this will become a “honey hole,” if you will, of useful information.

Leave a Reply

